The Marshall County Commission met in regular session on Wednesday, July 8, 2015, at 10:00am in the Marshall County Commission Chambers.

#### PRESENT:

James Hutcheson, Chairman
William H. Stricklend, III, Dist. 1 Commissioner
David Kelley, Dist. 3 Commissioner
Jessie C. Swords, Dist. 4 Commissioner
Shelly Fleisher, County Administrator
Jennifer Lewis, Commission Clerk
Bob Pirando, County Engineer
Karen Young, Administrative Assistant
Clint Maze, County Attorney

#### NOT PRESENT:

R.E. Martin, Dist. 2 Commissioner

Chairman Hutcheson called the meeting to order and asked Commissioner David Kelley to deliver the invocation and lead the Pledge of Allegiance.

#### **CONSENT AGENDA**

A motion was made by Commissioner Kelley, duly seconded by Commissioner Stricklend, all members voting affirmatively and so carried to approve the consent agenda as read by Chairman Hutcheson. The consent agenda includes the minutes from the June 24, 2015 commission meeting and the claims docket for June 23, 2015 – July 6, 2015 in the amount of \$920,829.39.

## APPROVE BOARD APPOINTMENT FOR JOPPA, HULACO, RYAN WATER AUTHORITY

A motion was made by Commissioner Stricklend, duly seconded by Commissioner Swords, all members voting affirmatively and so carried to approve appointment of Bob Morrow to the Joppa, Hulaco, Ryan Water Authority Board. Mr. Morrow will be filling the remaining term of his late father Jim Morrow. His term will expire February 2018.

## APPROVE BOARD APPOINTMENT FOR MARSHALL-JACKSON MRA, INC.

A motion was made by Commissioner Kelley, duly seconded by Commissioner Swords, all members voting affirmatively and so carried to approve appointment of James Dobbs to the Marshall-Jackson MRA, Inc. Board. Mr. Dobbs will fill the remaining term of a member that stepped down. His term will expire October 2017.

#### APPROVE TARCOG STATE AND FEDERAL HOST AGENCY AGREEMENTS

A motion was made by Commissioner Stricklend, duly seconded by Commissioner Kelley, all members voting affirmatively and so carried to approve TARCOG state and federal host agency agreements for the period of 07/01/15 - 06/30/16.

## <u>DISTRICT 3 – APPROVE LAND PURCHASE</u>

A motion was made by Commissioner Kelley, duly seconded by Commissioner Stricklend, all members voting affirmatively and so carried to approve the purchase of the property adjoining the District 3 shop on Oneonta-Cut Off Road, Albertville, AL. County Attorney Maze stated the property has a clear title and County Engineer Pirando stated the property did not have any environmental concerns. The purchase will be paid by District 3 in the amount of \$23,000 which is below the tax accessed value.

## REAPPRAISAL – APPROVE BUDGET AMENDMENT FROM LINE 499 FOR LOWE'S LAWSUIT EXPENSES

A motion was made by Commissioner Stricklend, duly seconded by Commissioner Kelley, all members voting affirmatively and so carried to approve budget amendment from line 499 for Lowe's lawsuit expenses. This budget amendment is in the amount of \$4,161.13.

### July 8, 2015

# REAPPRAISAL – APPROVE BUDGET AMENDMENT FROM LINE 499 TO COVER SHORTAGE FOR DELTA SOFTWARE MAINTENANCE FEES

A motion was made by Commissioner Kelley, duly seconded by Commissioner Stricklend, all members voting affirmatively and so carried to approve budget amendment from line 499 to cover shortage for Delta Software maintenance fees. This budget amendment is in the amount of \$2,060.

# APPROVE PAY INCREASE FOR BOARD MEMBERS OF THE NORTHEAST ALABAMA WATER, SEWER AND FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT; \$200 MONTHLY

A motion was made by Commissioner Kelley, duly seconded by Commissioner Swords, all members voting affirmatively and so carried to approve pay increase for board members of the Northeast Alabama Water, Sewer and Fire Protection District. This increase will be in the amount of \$200 monthly.

## **ADJOURNMENT**

MEETING ADJOURNED

There being no further business; a motion was made by Commissioner Stricklend, duly seconded by Commissioner Kelley and so carried to adjourn.

James Hutcheson, Chairman
James Hutcheson, Chairman
William H. Stricklend, District 1 Commissioner
R.E. Martin, District 2 Commissioner
David Kelley, District 3 Commissioner

Jessie Swords, District 4 Commissioner